Lessons in Victory

Musings of a young Christian and Conservative

Giving Thanks

leave a comment »

Every year at this time, we gather together with loved ones and celebrate the most important things in life.  We remember that we are a blessed nation, and that our families have shaped us, loved us, and endured both hardship and joy with us.  We start looking forward to the holiday season and the cooling of the weather.  It is a time for family, reflection, and relaxation.

We can say that we are thankful about plenty of things, but we sometimes overlook the people who have had a tremendous impact on our lives.  My life has been enriched by many different people, and I can say with confidence that these people have been the most positive forces in my life.   This Thanksgiving, I need to take the initiative to thank those who have helped shape who I am.  Remember in this holiday season that it can never hurt to say “thank you.”  You may never know how much it means to someone to hear those simple words.

I’m not just thankful for these wonderful people though.  I’m thankful for a country where I can espouse my political and religious beliefs without fear of censorship or punishment.  I’m thankful for the men and women who put their lives on the line in dangerous places across the globe to protect my freedom and the freedom of others.  I’m even thankful for those in office right now who seek to oppose freedom, for without them, I’m not sure if I could burn as passionately about the issues I feel are of utmost importance for the American people.  May these leaders remember all of these things–the sacrifices our forefathers have made so that we may live the way we do today; may they continue to fight for freedom and justice in an unjust world.

May God bless you all this Thanksgiving, and may you remember all of the important things (and people) that have shaped your life.

Written by jakehutchison

November 26, 2009 at 12:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

